Board and Governance

Board of Directors



Ann Curl Photo of Ann Curl

Ann is a member of Vanderbilt Kennedy Centerís Community Advisory Council and is a member of the Autism Society of Middle Tennessee. She has completed Vanderbilt's Advocacy Project and Leadership Education in Neurodevelopmental Disabilities (LEND) Program; and she is a graduate of Partners in Policymaking.

Vice President, Planning/Rules Committee Chair

Linda Brown Photo of Linda Brown

Linda Brown, from La Vergne is mother of Terrell, who has autism. She is President of The Arc Rutherford County and works at Vanderbilt University.


Treasurer, Budget and Finance Committee Chair

Mary La Haie Photo of Mary La Haie

Mary is a CPA and vice president of finance, Goodwill Industries of Middle Tennessee. She has 25 years experience in accounting, payroll and loss management.


John Lewis Photo of John Lewis

John is retired from the State of Tennessee. He previously worked for the Division of Intellectual Disabilities Services and TennCare.


Past President, Board Development Committee Chair

John Shouse Photo of John Shouse

John and his wife Janet are parents to three children, including their teenage son Evan, who has autism. John has a strong background in leadership, community development, and team building with local, state, and national nonprofit organizations. John served as the president of the Autism Society of Middle Tennessee for 6 years, and for nearly 4 years as a Vice Chair of the national board of the Autism Society of America. He is co-author, with Paula Kluth, of The Autism Checklist: A Practical Reference for Parents and Teachers, John Wiley & Sons, 2009.

Region 1 - East TN Regional Representative

Karen Downer, Chattanooga

Region 2 - Middle TN Regional Representative

Nelia Jobe, Dickson

Region 3 - West TN Regional Representative

Brittany Carter, Memphis

Other Committee Chairs

Doria Panvini, Nashville, Public Policy
Sharon Bottorff, Franklin, Membership
Robyn Lampley, Dickson, Advocacy & Education
Brenda Farley, Memphis, Public Awareness
Donna Isbell, Spring Hill, Development

Board Members

Glenda Bond, Crossville
Malessa Fleenor, Gray
Jennifer Heflin, Franklin
Cindy Gardner, Nashville
Donna Lankford, Kingsport
Elise McMillan, Nashville
Courtney Taylor, Nashville
Ginny Miceli, Norris
Sandra Hawkins, Memphis
Joe Pitts, Clarksville
Christina Pearce, Cleveland
Teresa Grimmett, Centerville

Governance Business Documents

Click links below to view documents:

Constitution and Bylaws

Annual Report

Audit 2017

Strategic Plan 2015-2018


Position Statements

Position statements can be found at The Arc United States.